The Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA) was formed by an Act (GO Ms. No. 570 MA dt: 25-08-2008) of then Andhra Pradesh Government in the year 2008, with an area of 7,257 sq km under its purview. HMDA jurisdiction covers (5) Districts, (55) Mandals, 849 Villages and about 7257 Sq. Kms.

HMDA was set up for the purpose of planning, co-ordination, supervising, promoting and securing the planned development of the Hyderabad Metropolitan Region. It coordinates the development activities of the municipal corporations, municipalities and other local authorities, the Hyderabad Metropolitan Water Supply & Sewerage Board, the Telangana Transmission Corporation, the Telangana Industrial Infrastructure Corporation, the Telangana State Road Transport Corporation, and other such bodies